Prepare the Best Plan to Meet Your Goals

Federal Skilled Trades Program FSTP

The Federal Skilled Trades Program is the only program available under federal economic immigration for tradespersons. Canada has a widespread labor shortage, and the Federal Skilled Trades Program is a promising pathway to Permanent Residence for such candidates.

Who is eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program?


The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is one of the three programs under the Express Entry system. It uses the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) to rank and invites applicants qualified in a skilled trade.

The primary eligibility for FSTP includes work experience in a skilled trade National Occupation Classification (NOC) code within or outside Canada.

The eligibility criteria include:

Work Experience: A minimum of 2 years of regular full-time employment (or equivalent part-time) experience, within the past five years in a skilled trade which may not be continuous, but acquired after obtaining the correspondent qualifications to perform such a job.

Job offer: A valid offer of full-time employment for a period of at least one year from up to 2 Canadian employers.

Certification: Alternative to a job offer, have a Certificate of Qualification in the said skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial or territorial authority.

Language Proficiency: A minimum language ability of CLB 5 in speaking and listening and a minimum of CLB 4 in reading and writing.

Which are the eligible NOCs for the Federal Skilled Trades Program?

The Federal Skilled Trades Programs requires you to have experience in one of the positions in the following NOC codes:

What is a certificate of qualification?

A ‘certificate of qualification’ or a ‘qualification certificate’ is issued by the body that governs trades in a Canadian province or territory or by a federal body. This certificate proves your qualification to practice a particular skilled trade in Canada upon: